Long distant love story…

Hi, my name is Hillary Greene. I live in Maine and I am affiliated with the US Army, my boyfriend is currently deployed to Afghanistan 😦 We have not been together very long so this is our first deployment together. It’s his 4th tour. Our story is this……a long time ago (12 yrs) we went to the same high school. I had no idea that he thought I was attractive and honestly he was the “nerdy” type so I never gave him a look. Since high school we have always stayed connected rather it be on Yahoo, Myspace or now Facebook! I have had several crappy relationships and he was the only one who would send me messages asking if I was ok and if there was something that he could do to help. Mind you he was hundreds of miles away since he is stationed in Hawaii. I never took him up on that offer until my last relationship ended. He was right there for me, texting me to make sure I was ok. Secretly he was happy because he thought and knew this was his chance. We started Skyping, talking on the phone and texting each other almost non-stop. Finally one day he asked me if I would be his girlfriend…..yep just like he would have way back in high school. I am so happy to be his significant other. I am proud of who he is and what he does for our country. He is very sincere and sweet. Very much so a gentleman. I love him with all my heart and I regret not giving him the chance back in high school. Some dislikes for me are the people who do not respect and appreciate what the military men and women do for our country. My other dislike is when women whine because their significant other is gone for a week doing their job but has no idea what it’s like to not see their significant other for a year or more. I think this project’s mission is absolutely amazing!!! It’s always nice to know that there are some people out there that are going through the same thing you are and to have the love and support from others is what helps me get you through anything-especially a deployment!! I am looking forward to the next year to be over (I never thought I would wish away a year but yes I am!!!) I can’t wait to have him home safely. I miss him so much!

One thought on “Long distant love story…

  1. I love your story..and don’t beat yourself up over not being together in high school as I’m positive it wasn’t meant to be until now…so cherish the now, praying for his safe return..many wishes for a long and happy future for you both 🙂 Aimee

Leave a Reply

